January 21, 2024

Uhatafe Leads Armadillos to All Star Championship

By Piper Howard

In a matchup of the undefeated, the Lone Star Armadillos shut out the Big Ten, 14-0, in the final of the Women’s All Star Championship Sunday in Round Rock, TX. Southern Nazarene sophomore Telesi Uhatafe claimed MVP honors, scoring the only tries of the final and leading all scorers with 55 points on 11 tries.  

The Armadillos allowed only two tries the entire competition, going a perfect 5-0 and outscoring opponents 121-10. The Big 10’s defense was almost as good, pitching a shutout through pool play.

All Stars MVP, Telesi Uhatafe with Ros Chou, Head Coach of CRC Defending Champion Brown University.

Upstate New York’s Anne Potter (Cornell) broke the seal to tie the semifinal going into halftime, but the Big 10’s back-to-back tries by Desidy Rodriguez (Indiana University) and Squirrel Langlois (University of Iowa) to claim the 15-10 victory.

In the semifinal play-in, reigning Small College national champs from St. Bonaventure and their fellow Snow Leopards ran up against the Midwest and several reigning Division II champions from Wisconsin Eau Claire, winning 19-15. Lauren Chiaino (Syracuse University) and Meegan White (Niagara University) led Upstate NY in scoring, helping the Snow Leopards to a third-place finish. 

DePaul’s Nicky Taghert was the tournament’s second highest scorer, helping the Great Waters secure a fifth-place finish. Carson Crenshaw (SARC; Univ. of Virginia), Lily Hess (SARC; Coastal Carolina), Megan Ludy (Great Waters; UW Eau Claire), and Morgan Linck (Midwest; UNI) all had scored five tries on the weekend, tying for third on the leaderboard.


Latest News