April 28, 2024

Blugolds Reclaim DII National Championship

Wisconsin Eau-Claire won its second national title in three years Sunday, toppling defending champion Roger Williams, 22-5 Sunday. In a knock-on heavy final, the Blugolds were driven by the offensive efforts of flyhalf Megan Ludy, who distributed well. Cerys Ridd and Emma Hamilton ended the weekend on the leaderboard for conversions and tries, and Kloee Chamberlain was crowned MVP. 

To face UWEC in the finals, Roger Williams was able to recover from an early deficit to Columbia. Bianca Franco put all of Columbia’s points on the board, while the team chemistry was tangible between the Hawks’ Sarah Gray and Natalia Comiskey. 

Temple also took an early lead over UWEC in their semifinal, but the Blugolds were able to turn the scoreboard around for a 15-10 victory in the second half. 

Fairfield swept the Colorado School of Mines 27-0 to take the Shield, with first year Molly Muller putting 20 points on the weekend for the Stags. Syracuse Junior Camille Wilt scored 40 points over two days of competition, helping the Orange win the Bowl, finishing ninth.

Three Coast Guard players Anna Green (36 points), Emma Briggs (34 points), Kaitlyn Boggs (30 points) ended their weekend atop the statistical leaderboards alongside Muller and Wilt.  

Division II All Tournament Team

Kloee Chamberlain Wisconsin - Eau Claire

Natalia Comiskey - Roger Williams

Sarah Gray - Roger Williams

Sakshi - Patel Temple

Yoon Kim - Columbia

Kelly Greenleaf - Towson

Camille Wilt - Syracuse


Latest News